Apparently Miranda Devine can’t afford a dictionary?

Maybe we should all pitch in and buy her one? It could be my first foray in to crowdsourcing!

Seriously though…

10306719_10153089173795485_3779059615735606341_n

W…T…F? Miranda Devine – Journalist. I use the term “journalist” loosely here.

Nihilism – the belief that all values are baseless and that nothing can be known or communicated. It is often associated with extreme pessimism and a radical skepticism that condemns existence. 

Atheism – the absence of belief that any deities exist.

See the difference?

I don’t think values are baseless. I don’t condemn existence.

I am a skeptic, a realist (not a pessimist), and an atheist.

If I didn’t care, I wouldn’t rant about things so much on this blog, on Twitter, or in real life. It is because I care that I get so angry with people. If I didn’t care, I’d be ambivalent and just say “meh, let humanity screw itself over”.

Being an atheist doesn’t lead to joining a Jihad (and tell me you don’t see the stupidity in that statement…an atheist joining a holy war?). Having a crappy life, and being offered a chance to vent your anger at the world? I can understand how he got pulled in. That’s nothing to do with atheism. The same could very easily happen to any young and impressionable kid who’d just lost both his parents.

My parents are hardline religious fundamentalists. I’m an atheist. My parents are actually horrible people (something that I never really realised until I was in my mid-teens).

Religion (or the lack thereof) doesn’t make people good or bad. Some people are just assholes. 
One thought on “Apparently Miranda Devine can’t afford a dictionary?

Leave a Reply

