Torrents on campus

I’ve been absent lately, I know. Lots of things going on in my life, and I have to be honest, updating my blog hasn’t been high on my priority list. I’ll try and be more active.

My gripe today is with this article about a UNSW student being fined for using torrents over the campus wi-fi.

So, here’s the thing that’s bugging me:

But in truth torrents are illegal…

No, they aren’t. Torrents are totally legal. It is the content of what is being shared by the torrent that may or may not be illegal.

You can legally share Linux ISO’s via torrent.

You can legally share your personally produced content via torrent.

You can legally share many things via torrent.

You can NOT legally share copyrighted material via torrent.

But torrents in and of themselves are not illegal.

I think that some university administrators and politicians need to get this through their heads.

Leave a Reply

