No, I can’t take you seriously

So, I’ve found a new gym. The one on campus is actually pretty good, enough cardio machines, and a good selection of machine and free weights. To be honest, I really just use the treadmill, rowing machine, free weights, and the squat rack. But I digress…

The gym also happens to run group fitness classes. This is really not my thing at all. But after coming back from an injury, my flexibility is a bit crap, so someone recommended I go to a yoga or pilates class once a week. Meh. Bores the hell out of me to be honest. If I’m not sweating like a pig, it’s not exercise. It just so happens that right after the pilates class (which I don’t think I’ll be going back to), they run the spin class.

The fitness instructor for the spin class is overweight, and by all evidence I saw, pretty unfit. What the hell are they doing leading a group fitness class if they can’t practice what they preach?

I don’t claim to be the beacon of fitness, but I can run a marathon in a relatively good time. I can deadlift my own body weight. I can finish an Olympic distance triathlon. This fitness instructor for the spin class couldn’t even keep up with half the people in the room. And did I mention she was seriously overweight?

I know that some people can be overweight but extremely fit. Just look at football players. They’re big guys, but they’re fit as. This woman? No offence, but she was just fat.

You’d think you’d get yourself in shape before trying to tell anyone else how to do it. It reeks of hypocrisy.

The same hypocrisy that drives me mad with medical professionals telling my parents not to smoke, but then going outside themselves to light up every hour. I know my parents have health issues and that they shouldn’t smoke, but it’s entirely hypocritical for the nurses and doctors to tell my parents not to smoke because “it’s bad for their health” when they’re going on a smoke break once an hour themselves. Practice what you preach. Actions speak louder than words. Whatever idiom you want to use…

The fact is, I’m not going to take anything you say seriously if you can’t actually do it for yourself.

I mean honestly, I’m sure she’s a lovely person, but would you take a fitness instructor seriously if they were fat and unfit?

Leave a Reply

