School’s war on junk food?

I would have probably ignored this article – if it wasn’t for the fact that I actually used to attend the school in question once upon a time. NSDS – oh, now that brings back memories!

I laughed. Mainly because if I have to be honest, if the school rang my parents up to tell them my lunchbox contained junk food, my parents would have probably told them where to stick it. I may not have a great relationship with my parents, but they’re also the kind of people who hate anybody interfering in “family business”, which in this case, I’d have been grateful for.

And above all of that, I was in serious swimming and athletics squads when I was a kid – right up until I started university. Have you seen what serious athletes consume? Lots and lots of calories.

Yes, I drank Coke. Yes, I ate junk food. Yes, I was training for 3-4 hours a day before and after school. I burned off all of those calories I ate. My nutrition was being monitored by coaches since I was about 6 years old.

So you know what? Screw the school. My sports coaches knew a hell of a lot more about nutrition than some primary school teacher who simply sees “sugar”, and screams about it being demon food.

I appreciate that I probably wasn’t your average primary school kid with the amount of sport I did, but a blanket ban on junk food is just ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

