Carbon Tax and MRRT

Obviously there’s been much media attention in Australia this week about the Carbon Tax. The vote to repeal it got shut down in the senate by Clive Palmer’s mob, and then later passed.

The thing is, people assume that I support the Liberal Party’s stance on the Carbon Tax and Mineral Resources Rent Tax (MRRT) because I happen to do research on mineral exploration.

I don’t.

At all.

I support measures that will help to reduce the environmental impact of mining.

I support the Carbon Tax. I support the MRRT (albeit an amended version).

I do not believe in mining at all costs. I do not believe in boosting the economy at all costs.

I may very well not like children. I am certainly not planning on having any. But by the same token, that doesn’t mean I want to see humanity destroy the planet for future generations.

Leave a Reply

