Childhood delusions

You know when you were a kid and you watched Indiana Jones?

Or you were studying Ancient Egypt in primary school?

And you decided that you were totally going to be an archaeologist when you grew up?

Yeah, I went through all of that as well.

So imagine my giddiness when I started reading the National Geographic report on archaeologists unearthing 50 new mummies of princes and princesses in the Valley of the Kings?

Back in my childhood delusions, that was me. I was totally going to be the one discovering new stuff in Egypt. Eventually I actually did visit Egypt on holiday and went to see all of those things that had me so curious as a child. It was awesome, although just being there as a tourist obviously has its limitations. It’s not like they let tourists just wander around carte blanche. I would have loved to have been there as a researcher so that I could have seen some other things, but such is life.

It’s just funny being reminded of these childhood delusions sometimes. When you have those “OMG! That’s awesome!” moments.

egypt 215

 

Having fun adventuring around Egypt at the end of 2008!

Leave a Reply

