Sweet chilli sauce

I don’t know if anybody other than me would actually eat this…But I’m going to post it anyway.

If it’s not obvious by now, I like spicy food. A lot. But most of the sweet chilli sauces they sell at the grocery store contain gluten, and occasionally some contain egg. Therefore they’re off my menu.

I had an epic craving for potato wedges tonight, so after cutting up the potatoes and giving them a dusting of garlic salt and a spray of olive oil, they went in the pre-heated oven to cook for 25 minutes (at 220C).

Then I had this genius idea to make my own sweet chilli sauce. It’s simply just mixing:

  • 2 tablespoons really hot minced chilli
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon tamari (can be found in health food aisle of Coles/Woolworths)
  • 1 teaspoon spicy mushroom XO sauce (from my local Asian grocery store)

It’s a little bit runny, but I was just going to be using it as a gravy for the wedges anyway, so that didn’t matter.

Holy crap. It was hot. I know I like hot and spicy, but damn. Was still awesome though!

Seriously not for those who can’t stomach hot food!

Leave a Reply

