Blueberry and Apple Crumble

It drives me mad when I go to eat out and all anybody can offer me is “fresh fruit” for dessert. You know what? I like fresh fruit, but that does not need to be the sole dessert option if you’re vegan or gluten free.

This is something I make for dessert quite regularly. Vegan and gluten free apple and blueberry crumble with ice cream.

Yes, it is vegan. Yes, it is gluten free. Yes I suck at cooking and still manage to come up with something more interesting than most professional chef’s can manage.

Ingredients:

  • 1 small apple, finely diced
  • 50 grams fresh blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon (30 ml) maple syrup 
  • 20 grams gluten free museli
  • 2 scoops soy ice cream (I use the So Good vanilla one)

Method

  1. Put apple and blueberries in microwave safe bowl and drizzle the maple syrup over the top
  2. Microwave the apple, blueberries and maple syrup on high for 1 minute
  3. Take out of microwave and mix through the museli
  4. Add 2 scoops of soy ice cream if desired (I desire!)
  5. EAT!

image

So you know what? Stuff the pathetic kitchen staff who can’t use their imagination for a whole 3 seconds. I am one of the most useless people you can possibly imagine in the kitchen. I’ve almost burned my apartment down several times I’m that bad. And even I can come up with something more imaginative than “sliced fruit”.

I like fruit, I really do. But you can do so much more with it than just cut it up and stick it on a plate with nothing to go with it. Which is all that ever seems to occur when I eat out.

Leave a Reply

